Fermentation failure

Kimchi, pickles, sauerkraut, and more!

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Fermentation failure

Postby Dannijade on Sun Sep 10, 2017 3:40 am

Hi All,
I'm new to fermenting, and was given a lovely glazed crock to use for my endeavours.
My first batch was a HUGE failure, seriously I've never seen so much mould. I think I didn't have enough in the crock. Anyhow, fast forward to a few more super mouldy attempts later and I'm stumped.

I've washed the crock and weights with boiling water and vinegar. I've baked the weights, I've bought new weights, I've filled the crock right up, I've made my own brine to add. I think I've tried everything.
Then today i get the crock out again, and look inside and notice the glaze is cracked, and the exposed ceramic has this grey mouldy powder coming out of it. The crock has been stored completely dry with the lid off, I'm starting to think that that the ceramic is actually compromised and maybe it's not what I'm doing.

Has anyone else encountered similar problems?
I'd welcome your feedback. Thanks!
Dannijade

Re: Fermentation failure

Postby Christopher Weeks on Mon Sep 11, 2017 7:54 am

I haven't personally, but I'm 100% sure I've read about similar problems here over the years. The search tool is telling me that "mold crock" consists of too-common words.

Is there a single crack or is the entire surface crazed? If it's the former, and if it's low enough that you can keep it below the brine-level, you might try remediating the crock.