Please help - fermented grains?

Sourdough, porridges, pre-soaking, and more!

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Please help - fermented grains?

Postby melanie92106 on Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:18 pm

Ok, I'm so very new to this that a lot of these posts could be in a different language to me! LOL

However, I hope this isn't too stupid a question to ask...but I'm supposed to avoid all grains while clearing up a current systemic yeast overgrowth that is causing a myriad of health problems.

I've been trying my hand at sprouted grains hoping I test ok with those, but so far, I can't get anything to rise or bake into an edible food.

Is there a certain type of fermented grain or bread that I could eat at this time?

Is so, how do I make it?
melanie92106

Re: Please help - fermented grains?

Postby Tim Hall on Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:42 pm

Melanie, I can't comment on whether fermented grains are ok for you to eat with your health issues...I'm not a doctor or healer. But if you want to try a bread that is mainly or all sprouted grains, look for recipes for "Essene bread."

You may find it difficult to get a bread with a fluffy, risen texture using only sprouted grains. The only way you'll get a bread that's similar to what you find in the store is to incorporate at least some glutenous flour.
Tim Hall
Long-Lost Keeper of the Keys

Postby melanie92106 on Sat Mar 12, 2011 7:45 pm

Awesome.
Thank you so much!
I so appreciate your expertise!
melanie92106

Postby catfishtony on Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:19 pm

You may also want to look into kefir.
catfishtony

Postby Jane_Whitt on Mon Oct 03, 2011 8:57 am

South America: Pozol

At first glance, some people may think I left the 'e' off the word 'pozole', a traditional Mexican stew. However, pozol is an entirely different beast, an ancient food almost totally unknown in the US, but which fueled the Mayan empire and remains a staple food in Southeastern Mexico.