Chicago - Rogers Park

A place for fermentation enthusiasts to find others to connect with in real life.

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Chicago - Rogers Park

Postby miltonics on Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:46 pm

While I have no professional experience, I've been making ferments of one sort or another since childhood.

I would be interested in both sharing what I know and learning new things from anyone in the Chicago area.

I currently am making miso, kombucha, elderberry mead, and sauerkraut. In the past I have made kefir, yogurt, beer, wines, kvass, and wild sourdough.

Milton
miltonics

Re: Chicago - Rogers Park

Postby olivesaxer on Tue Feb 10, 2009 2:06 pm

I am in the chicago area - am pretty experienced with alcohol ferments... let's mix minds!

-P
olivesaxer

Postby totemism on Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:18 am

I would love to learn :)
totemism

Postby JESSI on Sun May 03, 2009 4:35 pm

live in logan square, and i am starting a fermentation csa. anyone want to join?
JESSI

Postby lindam on Wed May 20, 2009 3:57 pm

I'm in Albany Park, a relative newbie except for yogurt.
lindam

Postby SpeakForTheTrees on Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:46 pm

I think a fermenting community share or CSA would be amazing. I've been making a lot of sauerkraut and sprouts this year, and have been working towards a perfect sourdough starter for a couple of years. I've also inherited a scoby and have been trading tips and techniques with a friend of mine.

Now I want to start trying to make my own vegan yogurt and soy milk, possibly from sprouted soy beans and then use it to make the yogurt and it would be great if there were some people in the city (specifically the north side in my case) to trade starters and do some workshops with.
SpeakForTheTrees

Postby olivesaxer on Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:54 am

@damen and roscoe.