Mail me some Milk Kefir?

Yogurt, Kefir, Clabbered Milk, Cheese, Whey, and more!

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Mail me some Milk Kefir?

Postby baerdric on Tue Apr 24, 2018 10:14 pm

I've been making water kefir for a few years, but didn't do dairy because I don't really like plain yogurt and I can't have the sugar of fruit additions.

But I just bought some and had it with my fermented blueberries, and did not have a sugar spike.

So I'm, going to the health food store tomorrow anyway and they carry that famous brand name Kefir grains product. But if there's anyone who can mail me a few of their grains I would appreciate it. I like to mix cultures up when I can.

I don't know if there's a DM function I don't see here, but I could post my email address so I could send mailing info.
Currently looking at things and pondering about stuff.

Bill DeWitt
baerdric

Re: Mail me some Milk Kefir?

Postby baerdric on Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:12 pm

Well, it turns out that my health food store didn't have the grains as I thought. They had water kefir grains, but I have plenty of those. Plus organic milk is nearly $10 a gallon!

Plus, after writing the previous post, the dairy qualities of milk kefir I bought made themselves known to my digestive system, and I suffered greatly.

So, never mind about the grains if you were thinking about it. And thanks anyway. I'll stick to water kefir.

Bill DeWitt
baerdric

Postby irie1029 on Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:43 am

Sorry to hear. I have very few to spare as I just started a couple months ago. Was it commercial kefir that made you ill? As commercial has way less probiotics and yeasts.
irie1029

Postby baerdric on Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:46 pm

Yes, it was health food store commercial, plain, unsweetened, grass fed milk kefir.