Natto failed!

Miso, tamari, tempeh, idli/dosa, natto, and more!

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Natto failed!

Postby veneficasarda on Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:58 am

Hi everyone, I write from Italy. I'm a biologist and recently, due to health issues, I'm deepening my knowledge about fermented foods. I tried to make Natto at home, with the starters purchased from

http://www.tempehstarter.com/

However 2 out of 2 attempt have failed. The natto does not run ...
I dipped the beans, steamed, melted the spores at 80 degrees, set the chamber at 40 for 24 hours. The temperature has risen a lot but at the end of the 24 hours the filaments were just outlined. I used 0.1 grams of spores as well for 500 grams of beans. Where could the error be? I need to get the Natto for my health and I would be grateful for any suggestion or advice. Thank you.

Silvia.
veneficasarda

Re: Natto failed!

Postby cerbu on Thu Aug 01, 2019 3:55 am

I write what I observed : beans need to be boiled really well, just before mushy, quickly drained ( not to drop the temperature too much), sprinkle the spores directly over the hot beans, mixed ,than added 2-3 tbs of their liquid (all this while still in the pot in which it boiled), transfer to fermenting bowl covered in paper ,cool to ~40-50 C ,put the fermenters probe near the beans ,not inside the bowl
cerbu

Postby veneficasarda on Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:02 pm

Thanks cerbu, I use this device to ferment Natto:
https://brodandtaylor.com/shop/#proofer

What temperature should I set? And for how long? Where can I buy safe Natto starters, pure spores of Bacillus subtilis? I also wanted to ask you if the aluminum cover with the holes to breathe works the same.
Thanks again.
veneficasarda

Postby cerbu on Thu Aug 01, 2019 1:42 pm