Help please

Sourdough, porridges, pre-soaking, and more!

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Help please

Postby Lakesidemamma on Mon Jun 24, 2013 9:38 pm

I am a newbie to sourdough starters. I took a one-day class where I made my own starter with 250 grams water and 150 grams rye flour. Stirred it and put it in a jar with a lid on for four days.....I know, but I was travelling and couldn't feed it. When I got home I discarded half and fed it the same amounts again for the next few days every 12 hours. Then for the next few days I did the same every 24 hours. I left the lid on loosely once I got home (for the last week or so). The most my concoction every does is bubble up about 1/5 higher over 24 hours. I make sure I blend in lots of air each time I refresh it and use organic rye flour and warmish bottled water. Now the last two days I've gotten a gradually thickening white crusty-type stuff growing all across the top of my starter. I have just been stirring it back in to my mixture and it comes back within 24 hours but thicker. The smell has also gone from a lovely apple vinegar type smell to not really smelling that much at all ... or maybe slightly like vomit (yuck). I've now been babying this stuff for over a week ... is it time to start again or should I persevere?
Lakesidemamma

Re: Help please

Postby Tibor on Tue Jun 25, 2013 11:34 am