Physical Side-Effects of a Newly Introduced Probiotic Diet

Everything else!

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Physical Side-Effects of a Newly Introduced Probiotic Diet

Postby CulturedCascadian on Sun Dec 15, 2013 2:23 am

I've been eating a diet rich in lacto-fermented foods for about the last three months. In the beginning, I experienced the Jarisch-Herxheimer reaction (a.k.a. "candida die-off reaction"). Since then, I've experienced alternating periods of healthy digestion punctuated by mini-episodes of the candida die-off condition.

Now, I'm experiencing a flare-up of eczema on my knuckles and lower legs, a few inches above my ankles.

Does anybody here have any insight into this? From what I read online, both seem to be associated with a newly probiotic-heavy diet, but there isn't much in the way or straightforward answers, so I thought I'd just check here and see if anybody could help shed some light.

Thank you!
CulturedCascadian

Re: Physical Side-Effects of a Newly Introduced Probiotic Di

Postby WWFSM on Sun Dec 15, 2013 11:45 am

Good for you including fermented foods in your diet and using them to help improve your health. It's amazing how powerful these foods can be. Though I'm sorry to hear about your Herx, those things can be nasty.

The Herx reaction is quite common to a sudden positive change in diet, though most people don't know how to recognize it. During a Hurx, I cut back the fermented foods for a few days and return to my natural diet (basically rice and steamed veg). This reduces the damage that can come from your body dealing with the massive die off (hard on the waste management system to deal with the mega toxin load). Also, drinking extra clear liquids like water, really help the body deal with a Herx.