Coconut water kefir

Kombucha, sodas, water kefir, rejuvelac, kvass, and more...

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Coconut water kefir

Postby green_tea on Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:32 am

This is my first attempt at making kefir from coconut water, and i'm not sure it turned out right. i used freeze-dried kefir grains, which is what i could find at the store, and boxed coconut water, to which i added 1 tsp of sugar to enhance fermentation (read this on body ecology website). i know young coconuts are preferable, but boxed is what i have. I heated it gently to about 95 degrees, mixed in the grains, transferred to glass, covered and let sit. almost 48 hours later, it smells like bread and has a lot of chalky residue settled in the bottom, but still tastes sweet. i have it in a warm place. my question is: what should it taste like? look like? smell like? there were a few bubbles on the top, but i thought it was supposed to be clear and fizzy. i'm wondering if i may have heated it too much and killed the cultures? it does smell yeasty, like bread or beer. any helpful tips appreciated, thanks
green_tea

Re: Coconut water kefir

Postby Tim Hall on Tue Oct 06, 2009 5:49 pm

If it smells yeasty, it sounds like it's doing exactly what it should. 95 degrees is definitely not so warm it would harm the culture.

It's hard to say exactly what your kefir should taste like...if you're not using an actual mother culture (if you're using a powdered culture) I would recommend sourcing one, especially if you plan on doing this often. Every culture is a bit unique and produces somewhat variable flavors and textures, and results from a single culture can vary greatly depending on the fermenting conditions. To some extent you'll just have to get know your particular culture.