Beet Kvass

Kombucha, sodas, water kefir, rejuvelac, kvass, and more...

Moderator: Christopher Weeks

Beet Kvass

Postby kkraut on Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:22 pm

Hello, I just found this forum online and it's great!! I am new to fermentation and so far have only made saurkraut. I have started to make beet kvass and I need some advice as I have no idea how to tell if it's good or not.
The recipe that I used is from Nourishing Traditions, but without the whey. Here are my questions:
- My kvass has been fermenting for 5 days now and it's starting to taste less salty, and more earthy and sour. Is this normal?
- I opened the jar twice to check on the flavor. Is it ok to open the jar during fermentation?
- When should I move it to cold storage? It's been sitting in my cupboard for 5 days.

Thank you!!
kkraut

Re: Beet Kvass

Postby Tdlotus@gmail.com on Sun Apr 06, 2014 6:31 pm

Hi there,
I have been making beet kvass for some time now and wanted to share some observations and uses. I have gotten in the habit of letting my kvas sit on the counter for 7-10 days before putting it in the fridge. Then I put it in the fridge for 4-6 weeks with the beets still in the container. You will be amazed and it is soooo worth the wait. I also put a lemon and/or an orange or a bit of ginger in with the beets and salt. I do not use whey, I use kvas from the previous batch as my starter. The citrus in addition to giving it a nice background keeps the molds at bay while it ferments on the counter for a week. At the end of the time in the fridge. I strain out the beets and citrus, grind them up and out them in my next sauerkraut as the starter or I dehydrate them and use them on salads etc, Yum!
Love to hear others variations.
Tdlotus@gmail.com

Postby justineaton on Sat May 17, 2014 4:34 pm